Flitwick Dolphins swimmers and their families gathered at Parkside Hall, Ampthill, on the 9th of January to celebrate the winners and medalists from the 2015 club championships and some of the club’s other outstanding achievers of 2015. Both the girls’ and boys’ competition had seen dominant performances, by Gemma Trott (16) for the girls and James McFarland (14) for the boys. Gemma picked up nine of the fastest swimmer in each event awards, while James went one better with ten. The other fastest girls were Molly Bow (14) in the 100m and 200m Breaststroke and Georgie Curtis (15) in the 200m butterfly and 200m Individual Medley, while Chris Murphy (19) was the fastest boy in the 100m butterfly, freestyle and individual medley events.

Next came the awards for the most improved swimmers and two of the youngest winners of the evening, Francesca Baber (9) and Jake Hickmott (10), were on stage to take the awards for most improved sprint freestyle. Olivia Fowler (13) and Sam Dennis (13) won the awards for most improved long distance freestyle and they were followed by Autumn Handscombe (13) and Isaac Moon (12) for most improved backstroke.  Autumn also took the most improved breaststroke award, along with Billy Cutler (13). Most improved butterfly went to Katie Tompkins (15) and George Hart (14), and finally the most improved individual medley awards were won by Imogen Thompson (12) and Kai Borromeo (13).

The overall age group winners were honoured next and in the boys under 12 category Tyler Watson was first, George Maskell second and Finn Hague third. Kai Boromeo was the under 14 boys champion, with Sam Dennis second and Edward McFarland third, while James McFarland was the under 16 champion with Philip Cummins second and George Hart third. Lastly, Thomas Allen won the 16 and over category with Oliver Winder and Luke Ford joint second and Owen Jones third.

Francesca Baber was back on stage next to receive the award for under 10 girls age group winner, accompanied by Ruby Blackmore and Ruby Ryall in joint second and Lily Moore in third. Eloisa Miller was the under 12 girls champion, with Sophie Fowler second and Mari Cutler third, while Charlotte O’Dell was the under 14 champion with Rebecca Grogan second and Olivia Fowler third. Molly Bow won the under 16 category with Georgie Curtis second and Katie Tompkins third. Finally, Gemma Trott was the 16 and over champion with Claudia Grant-Dawson second and Demi Narang third.

The overall points competition was announced next, and as always it was a close result, with James McFarland edging out Gemma Trott and Charlotte O’Dell. James was soon back on stage to pick up a prize for swimming 100m freestyle in under a minute for the first time, and Georgie Curtis took a prize for the girls’ equivalent of a sub-64 second swim.  Two committee members, Ian Murray and Sandra Grant-Dawson, were then awarded the Members’ Cup for their voluntary work for the club, and the final award for the outstanding achievement of the year was accepted by James McFarland and Molly Bow in recognition of their fantastic, medal-winning performances at the National Championships in August.

Both the Chairman and the Head Coach were extremely pleased with the progress made by the swimmers in such a short space of time.
Hatim "Hatz" Morsy  the clubs head coach had this to say

"Many County Qualification times were achieved along with the many PBs and this has meant the team is in good spirits going into the County championships at the end of January.

We would like to encourage support at this event so please do pop by and support the Flitwick Team as they take on the other teams in the County for 2016"